Medora Announces 2017 Scholarship & Ambassador Award Winners

39 employees receive scholarships & awards, totaling $30,500

(MEDORA, ND) Today the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation(TRMF) announced the names of 39 employees, from 12 states and 4 countries, who were awarded 2017 scholarships and ambassador awards.


The scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $1,500, are awarded annually through the Tjaden Education Assistance Program, named after the late TRMF President, Rod Tjaden. Scholarships go to employees currently pursuing undergraduate degrees. The ten, $500 TRMF ambassador awards are given to graduate students or non-college student TRMF employees.

TRMF also awarded eight Larson Ambassador Awards. The Larson Ambassador Awards are $500 awards that were established in 2016 by creator of the Sunshine Memorial Foundation, Van and Dee Larson.

TRMF communications director, Justin Fisk commented, “Throughout the 2017 travel season, these scholarship and award winners consistently showed exceptional leadership, and they embodied the values that we at TRMF believe in most: respect for people and place, family values, and excellence and creativity in work and service to our guests.”


“The young folks who’ve earned these awards through hard work and leadership are not only the future leaders in Medora, but also in their communities around the state, region, and country.”

Scholarships are available to TRMF employees who are currently pursuing an undergraduate degree to receive scholarships. Scholarship and award winners need to demonstrate outstanding leadership and have a positive influence on the city of Medora, visitors of Medora, and their fellow employees.


Larson Ambassador Awards honor eight outstanding TRMF employees that have left an indelible impression on Medora.


Marsha Sauer, recipient of The Medora Award says,

“To work for the Theodore Roosevelt Medora Foundation is one of the most rewarding experiences of my life — in that nowhere else do you find a core of staff that is all in and selfless in their work ethic. It inspires all who come in contact to do their very best!”

In order to be eligible for scholarships and ambassador awards, applicants must work at least 480 hours during the summer season. Employees who have shown excellent leadership skills throughout the summer season can be nominated by a manager, a coworker, or can nominate themselves. Scholarship and ambassador award recipients are then selected by a special committee that is appointed by TRMF President, Randy Hatzenbuhler.


Individuals or organizations who have interest in helping expand the scholarship program can contact Hatzenbuhler 701-223-4800.


2017 Scholarship Winners:

Tjaden Scholarships – $1,000 award
Janlavtsogzol Batmandakh — Mongolia
Kayla Bingham — Cadiz, KY
Michelle Francher — Anoka, MN
Caitlyn Hinkle — Joliet, IL
Greta Klinnert — Kindred, ND
Majalisa Nelson — Solen, ND
Conner Raymond — Adrian, MI
Nicole Wallerick — Red Wing, MN
Nicholas Wax — Bismarck, ND
Emily Wolter — Holdingford, MN
^Emma Kamanski — Hartford, WI
^Tanda Kordonowy — Belfield, ND
*Yordanka Tumbakova — Bulgaria
~Grace Schuler — Wishek, ND
~Kaitlyn Stickel — Glendive, MT

^ Denotes Tim Johnson Award – $500 additional award
* Denotes Winston Satran Award – $500 additional award
~ Denotes Wade Westin Award – $500 additional award


Don Hubbard Scholarship – $1,500 award – to be awarded to a ND University student
Paige Amann — Dickinson, ND
Rachael Solberg — Belfield, ND

Sheila Schafer Sunshine Award – $1,500 award
Halley Bartlett — Kenmare, ND

Shannon “Sunshine” Larson Scholarship – $1,500 award
Katerina Black — Trenton, MO
Ally Carson — West Fargo, ND

Dean Hildebrand Conservation Scholarship – $1,500 award
Timothy Michael — Lexington, KY

TRMF Ambassador Award – $500 awards

Ellen Balk — Holland, MI
Natalia Borusiak — Poland
Chuck  Bokinskie — Medora, ND
Stefan Damayanov — Bulgaria
Deb Gray — Dallas, TX
Keara Hannan — Roseville, MN
Stuart Moyer — Spokane Valley, WA
Donna Muckle — Beach, ND
Jakub Radka — Poland
Vicente Valenzuela — Mexico

Larson Ambassador Award – $500 awards

Ours was the Glory of work and the Joy of Living Award – Given in honor of Joe Wiegand
Austin Geltel — Mandan, ND

Kindness and Goodness Award – Given in honor of Bill Sorensen
Grace Harrington — Hammond, MT

Get ‘er Done Award – Given in honor of John Hild
Nedyalka Stoeva — Bulgaria

Mistified Award – Given in honor of Misti Koop
Paul Gray — Dallas, TX

The Medora Award – Given in honor of Emily Walter
Marsha Sauer — Merced, CA

The “It” Award – Given in honor of Jared Mason
Mandy Marboe — Dickinson, ND

Free Spirit Award – Given in honor of Madi Smith
Ethan Pierson — Wayne, PA

The Gatekeeper Award – Given in honor of B.J. Ridl
Peggy Gunther — Hettinger, ND

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply